Risk of Nonarteritic Anterior Ischemic Optic Neuropathy in Patients Prescribed Semaglutide
- Design
- Retrospective cohort · 1689 participants · Hard outcome
- Match to healthy normal-weight adults aged 55–75
- Different populationReferral population at one neuro-ophthalmology service; T2D or overweight/obesity cohorts; very small event counts.
- Could weight loss explain it?
- UnknownHarm signal; mechanism unknown.
- Study tier
- Study tier 4Hypothesis-generating single-centre cohort; later meta-analysis (PMID 42166479) supports a smaller but real association.
- Assessment
- Version 2 · curated · Sep 13, 2026
Study facts come from the paper. Population match, weight-loss explanation and study tier are our judgments, made against the reference group of healthy normal-weight adults aged 55–75.
The first report linking semaglutide to non-arteritic anterior ischaemic optic neuropathy, from a single eye-referral centre, found roughly four- to seven-fold higher hazard with very few events. It generated a signal later examined in larger studies.
01Findings
What the study reported
- Drugs
- Semaglutide
- Treatment duration
- 36 months
- Comparator
- 3 in the non-GLP-1 RA cohort
- Primary outcome
- Incident NAION (propensity-matched cohorts, single neuro-ophthalmology centre)
- Effect
- T2D cohort HR 4.28 (17 vs 6 events); overweight/obese cohort HR 7.64 (20 vs 3 events; from full text)
- 95% confidence interval
- 1.62 to 11.29 (T2D)
- P value
- <0.001
- Follow-up
- 36 months
- Adverse events
- Not extracted
- Limitations
- Auto-classified from abstract only; effect estimates, adverse events and limitations not extracted. Requires manual review.
Who was studied
- Mean age
- 59
- Obesity status
- overweight/obesity cohort analysed separately
- Diabetes status
- separate T2D and non-diabetic cohorts
- Cvd status
- cardiovascular disease present in population (see abstract)
- Baseline condition
- obstructive sleep apnea
- Sample size
- 827
Study quality details
- Study design
- Retrospective cohort
- Sample size
- 827
- Randomization
- no
- Blinding
- not stated
- Comparator
- not stated
- Follow up duration
- 36 months
- Outcome type
- hard
- Replication
- not assessed (auto)
- Consistency with other evidence
- not assessed (auto)
- Population applicability
- INDIRECT
- Statistical precision
- very wide CIs; 23 total events
- Risk of bias
- referral bias, single centre, potential detection bias
- Funding conflicts
- unclear
- Peer review status
- yes
02Funding
Funding and conflicts
- Funding
- Not stated in abstract
- Industry funded
- Unclear
- Manufacturer
- None identified
- Sponsor role
- not reported in abstract
- Author conflicts
- Not available in metadata.
- Independent replication
- yes (subsequent cohorts and meta-analysis)
Funding is shown on every study and never used to score it.
03Claims
Claims this study bears on
- Semaglutide increases the risk of non-arteritic anterior ischaemic optic neuropathy (NAION).Supports
Retrospective matched cohort, single centre; small event numbers; referral population.
04Source
The source, as retrieved
Abstract
[IMPORTANCE] Anecdotal experience raised the possibility that semaglutide, a glucagon-like peptide 1 receptor agonist (GLP-1 RA) with rapidly increasing use, is associated with nonarteritic anterior ischemic optic neuropathy (NAION). [OBJECTIVE] To investigate whether there is an association between semaglutide and risk of NAION. [DESIGN, SETTING, AND PARTICIPANTS] In a retrospective matched cohort study using data from a centralized data registry of patients evaluated by neuro-ophthalmologists at 1 academic institution from December 1, 2017, through November 30, 2023, a search for International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems, Tenth Revision code H47.01 (ischemic optic neuropathy) and text search yielded 16 827 patients with no history of NAION. Propensity matching was used to assess whether prescribed semaglutide was associated with NAION in patients with type 2 diabetes (T2D) or overweight/obesity, in each case accounting for covarying factors (sex, age, systemic hypertension, T2D, obstructive sleep apnea, obesity, hyperlipidemia, and coronary artery disease) and contraindications for use of semaglutide. The cumulative incidence of NAION was determined with the Kaplan-Meier method and a Cox proportional hazards regression model adjusted for potential confounding comorbidities. Data were analyzed from December 1, 2017, through November 30, 2023. [EXPOSURES] Prescriptions for semaglutide vs non-GLP-1 RA medications to manage either T2D or weight. [MAIN OUTCOMES AND MEASURES] Cumulative incidence and hazard ratio of NAION. [RESULTS] Among 16 827 patients, 710 had T2D (194 prescribed semaglutide; 516 prescribed non-GLP-1 RA antidiabetic medications; median [IQR] age, 59 [49-68] years; 369 [52%] female) and 979 were overweight or obese (361 prescribed semaglutide; 618 prescribed non-GLP-1 RA weight-loss medications; median [IQR] age, 47 [32-59] years; 708 [72%] female). In the population with T2D, 17 NAION events occurred in patients prescribed semaglutide vs 6 in the non-GLP-1 RA antidiabetes cohort. The cumulative incidence of NAION for the semaglutide and non-GLP-1 RA cohorts over 36 months was 8.9% (95% CI, 4.5%-13.1%) and 1.8% (95% CI, 0%-3.5%), respectively. A Cox proportional hazards regression model showed higher risk of NAION for patients receiving semaglutide (hazard ratio [HR], 4.28; 95% CI, 1.62-11.29); P < .001). In the population of patients who were overweight or obese, 20 NAION events occurred in the prescribed semaglutide cohort vs 3 in the non-GLP-1 RA cohort. The cumulative incidence of NAION for the semaglutide vs non-GLP-1 RA cohorts over 36 months was 6.7% (95% CI, 3.6%-9.7%) and 0.8% (95% CI, 0%-1.8%), respectively. A Cox proportional hazards regression model showed a higher risk of NAION for patients prescribed semaglutide (HR, 7.64; 95% CI, 2.21-26.36; P < .001). [CONCLUSIONS AND RELEVANCE] This study's findings suggest an association between semaglutide and NAION. As this was an observational study, future study is required to assess causality.
Where this record came from
| Source | Retrieved | Identifier |
|---|---|---|
| pubmed | Sep 13, 2026 | 38958939 first ingestion |