Inflammation in Obesity-Related HFpEF: The STEP-HFpEF Program
- Design
- Randomized trial · 1145 participants · Mixed outcome
- Match to healthy normal-weight adults aged 55–75
- Different population[Auto] Participants had obesity/overweight (age/BMI not reported in abstract).
- Could weight loss explain it?
- Possibly[Auto] Participants had obesity and/or type 2 diabetes and the abstract does not separate direct drug effects from weight loss or glycaemic improvement.
- Study tier
- Study tier 1[Auto] Large randomized trial with clinical outcomes (auto-provisional; risk of bias and consistency not yet assessed).
- Assessment
- Version 1 · automatic, not yet reviewed by a person · Sep 13, 2026
Study facts come from the paper. Population match, weight-loss explanation and study tier are our judgments, made against the reference group of healthy normal-weight adults aged 55–75.
[Auto, unreviewed; quoted from abstract conclusions] Inflammation is highly prevalent in obesity-related HFpEF. Semaglutide consistently improved HF-related symptoms, physical limitations, and exercise function, and reduced body weight across the categories of baseline CRP. Semaglutide also reduced inflammation, regardless of either baseline CRP or magnitude of weight loss during the trials. (Research Study to Investigate How Well Semaglutide Works in People Living With Heart Failure and Obesity
What the study reported
- Drugs
- Semaglutide
- Dose
- 2.4 mg
- Comparator
- placebo
- Primary outcome
- Not extracted
- Effect
- Not extracted
- 95% confidence interval
- Not extracted
- Follow-up
- 52 weeks
- Adverse events
- Not extracted
- Limitations
- Auto-classified from abstract only; effect estimates, adverse events and limitations not extracted. Requires manual review.
Who was studied
- Obesity status
- obesity/overweight present (all or most)
- Diabetes status
- diabetes mentioned
- Cvd status
- cardiovascular disease present in population (see abstract)
- Baseline condition
- heart failure with preserved ejection fraction
- Sample size
- 1145
Study quality details
- Study design
- Randomized controlled trial
- Sample size
- 1145
- Randomization
- yes
- Blinding
- double-blind
- Comparator
- placebo
- Follow up duration
- 52 weeks
- Outcome type
- mixed
- Replication
- not assessed (auto)
- Consistency with other evidence
- not assessed (auto)
- Population applicability
- INDIRECT
- Statistical precision
- not extracted
- Risk of bias
- not assessed (auto)
- Funding conflicts
- unclear
- Peer review status
- yes
Funding and conflicts
- Funding
- not reported in abstract
- Industry funded
- Unclear
- Manufacturer
- Novo Nordisk, Eli Lilly, Lilly, AstraZeneca, Sanofi, Boehringer Ingelheim, Amgen, Pfizer, Roche, Zealand Pharma, GlaxoSmithKline, Structure Therapeutics
- Sponsor role
- not reported in abstract
- Author conflicts
- Funding Support and Author Disclosures This trial was funded by Novo Nordisk, Søborg, Denmark. Administrative support for manuscript development was funded by Novo Nordisk. Dr Verma is supported by the Canadian Institutes of Health Research and Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada and holds the Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Cardiovascular Surgery. Dr Petrie is supported by the British Heart Foundation Centre of Research Excellence Award (RE/13/5/30177 and RE/18/6/34217+). Dr Borlaug is supported in part by National Institutes of Health (NIH) grants R01HL128526, R01HL162828, and U01HL160226 and by U.S. Department of Defense grant W81XWH2210245. Dr Davies is supported by the Leicester National Institute for Health Research Biomedical Research Centre. Dr Kitzman was supported in part by the Kermit Glenn Phillips II Chair in Cardiovascular Medicine and NIH grants U01AG076928, R01AG078153, R01AG045551, R01AG18915, P30AG021332, U24AG059624, and U01HL160272. Dr Shah was supported by NIH grants U54HL160273, R01HL107577, R01HL127028, R01HL140731, and R01HL149423. Dr Verma has received speaking honoraria and consulting fees from Abbott, Amarin, AstraZeneca, Bayer, Boehringer Ingelheim, Canadian Medical and Surgical Knowledge Translation Research Group, Eli Lilly, HLS Therapeutics, Janssen, Merck, Novartis, Novo Nordisk, Pfizer, PhaseBio, and TIMI. Dr Borlaug receives research grant funding from AstraZeneca, Axon Therapies, GlaxoSmithKline, Medtronic, Mesoblast, Novo Nordisk, Rivus,
- Independent replication
- unknown
- Notes
- Authors declare relationships with the drug's manufacturer: Novo Nordisk
Funding is shown on every study and never used to score it.
The source, as retrieved
Abstract
[BACKGROUND] Inflammation is thought to be an important mechanism for the development and progression of obesity-related heart failure with preserved ejection fraction (HFpEF). In the STEP-HFpEF Program, once-weekly 2.4 mg semaglutide improved heart failure-related symptoms, physical limitations, and exercise function, reduced the levels of C-reactive protein (CRP), a biomarker of inflammation, and reduced body weight in participants with obesity-related HFpEF. However, neither the prevalence nor the clinical characteristics of patients who have various magnitudes of inflammation in the context of obesity-related HFpEF have been well described. Furthermore, whether the beneficial effects of semaglutide on the various HF efficacy endpoints in the STEP-HFpEF Program are modified by the baseline levels of inflammation has not been fully established. Finally, the relationship between weight reduction and changes in CRP across the STEP-HFpEF Program have not been fully defined. [OBJECTIVES] This study sought to: 1) evaluate baseline characteristics and clinical features of patients with obesity-related HFpEF that have various levels of inflammation in the STEP-HFpEF Program; 2) determine if the effects of weekly semaglutide 2.4 mg vs placebo across all key outcomes are influenced by baseline levels of inflammation assessed by CRP levels; and 3) determine the relationship between change in CRP and weight loss in the STEP-HFpEF Program. [METHODS] This was a secondary analysis of pooled data from 2 international, double-blind, placebo-controlled, randomized trials (STEP-HFpEF and STEP-HFpEF DM). The outcomes were change in the dual primary endpoints (health status [measured by the Kansas City Cardiomyopathy Questionnaire-Clinical Summary Score (KCCQ-CSS)] and body weight) from baseline to 52 weeks according to baseline CRP levels. Additional efficacy endpoints included change in 6-minute walk distance (6MWD), a hierarchical composite endpoint that included death, heart failure events, and differences in the change in the KCCQ-CSS and 6MWD, and levels of CRP in semaglutide- vs placebo-treated patients. Patients were stratified into 3 categories based on baseline CRP levels (<2, ≥2 to <10, and ≥10 mg/L). [RESULTS] In total, 1,145 patients were randomized, of which 71% of patients had evidence of inflammation (CRP ≥2 mg/L). At baseline, those with higher levels of inflammation were younger, were more likely to be female, and had higher body mass index, worse health status (KCCQ-CSS), and shorter 6MWD. Semaglutide vs placebo led to reductions in HF-related symptoms and physical limitations as well as body weight, and to improvements in 6MWD and the hierarchical composite endpoint that were consistent across baseline CRP categories (all P interaction nonsignificant). Semaglutide also reduced CRP to a greater extent than placebo regardless of baseline CRP levels (P interaction = 0.32). Change in CRP from baseline to 52 weeks was similar regardless of the magnitude of weight loss (P interaction = 0.91). [CONCLUSIONS] Inflammation is highly prevalent in obesity-related HFpEF. Semaglutide consistently improved HF-related symptoms, physical limitations, and exercise function, and reduced body weight across the categories of baseline CRP. Semaglutide also reduced inflammation, regardless of either baseline CRP or magnitude of weight loss during the trials. (Research Study to Investigate How Well Semaglutide Works in People Living With Heart Failure and Obesity [STEP-HFpEF; NCT04788511]; Research Study to Look at How Well Semaglutide Works in People Living With Heart Failure, Obesity and Type 2 Diabetes [STEP HFpEF DM; NCT04916470]).
Where this record came from
| Source | Retrieved | Identifier |
|---|---|---|
| pubmed | Sep 13, 2026 | 39217564 first ingestion |