Exenatide affects circulating cardiovascular risk biomarkers independently of changes in body composition
- Design
- Randomized trial · 69 participants · Mixed outcome
- Match to healthy normal-weight adults aged 55–75
- Different population[Auto] Participants had type 2 diabetes (age/BMI not reported in abstract).
- Could weight loss explain it?
- Possibly[Auto] Participants had obesity and/or type 2 diabetes and the abstract does not separate direct drug effects from weight loss or glycaemic improvement.
- Study tier
- Study tier 3[Auto] Small or short randomized trial (auto-provisional).
- Assessment
- Version 1 · automatic, not yet reviewed by a person · Sep 13, 2026
Study facts come from the paper. Population match, weight-loss explanation and study tier are our judgments, made against the reference group of healthy normal-weight adults aged 55–75.
[Auto, unreviewed; quoted from abstract conclusions] Exenatide treatment for 1 year reduced body fat mass and improved the profile of circulating biomarkers of cardiovascular risk. No significant changes were seen with insulin glargine except a trend for reduced endothelin-1 levels.
What the study reported
- Drugs
- Exenatide
- Primary outcome
- Not extracted
- Effect
- Not extracted
- 95% confidence interval
- Not extracted
- Follow-up
- Not stated
- Adverse events
- Not extracted
- Limitations
- Auto-classified from abstract only; effect estimates, adverse events and limitations not extracted. Requires manual review.
Who was studied
- Diabetes status
- type 2 diabetes present (all or most)
- Sample size
- 69
Study quality details
- Study design
- Randomized controlled trial
- Sample size
- 69
- Randomization
- yes
- Blinding
- not stated
- Comparator
- not stated
- Follow up duration
- not stated
- Outcome type
- mixed
- Replication
- not assessed (auto)
- Consistency with other evidence
- not assessed (auto)
- Population applicability
- INDIRECT
- Statistical precision
- not extracted
- Funding conflicts
- unclear
- Peer review status
- yes
How much the result can be relied on
Risk of bias is judged per result, not per paper: the same study can report one marker at low risk and another at high. Two reviewers assess each result independently against a written guide, and every domain judgment below carries its reasoning and the sentences it rests on.
These words are not quality scores. On the RoB 2 scale, High risk of bias is the worst rating a result can receive and Low risk of bias is the best — the opposite of how the same words read on some other scales. Levels are always written out in full here for that reason.
hs-CRP percentage change from baseline, exenatide vs insulin glargine (between-treatment group difference) · 1 year (52 weeks)
Some concerns about risk of bias · RoB 2 · Two reviewers differed; settled by a recorded ruling
How the overall was reached: No domain is High; D1, D2 and D5 are each Some concerns, which under the RoB 2 algorithm gives Some concerns overall. Recorded alongside: the only available estimate is weight-change-adjusted, so if this record is carried into the O1 body it enters as an adjusted estimate, which understates the total (weight-mediated plus direct) effect that O1 is meant to capture; and the comparator is an active one (insulin glargine), placing the record in the head-to-head stratum under c001-outcomes v1.4 rather than the primary placebo stratum.
| Domain | Judgment and reasoning |
|---|---|
| D1 · Randomisation process Some concerns about risk of bias | As O4 D1: randomization sequence and allocation concealment not described in this report, small (N=69) trial so the v1.2 large-trial presumption does not reach it, appendix baseline table not retrieved, and baseline hs-CRP is higher in the exenatide arm. NI on both mechanism questions, no contrary evidence -> Some concerns.Details on study design were reported previously ( 5 ). Patients were randomized to exenatide ( n = 36) or insulin glargine ( n = 33) added to their ongoing metformin therapy hs-CRP (mg/l) Insulin glargine 29 1.42 ± 0.27 ... Exenatide 30 1.81 ± 0.25 |
| D2 · Deviations from intended interventions Some concerns about risk of bias | As O4 D2: no blinding stated and the two regimens are self-evidently distinguishable; the biomarker itself is insensitive to awareness, but the analysis is completers-only with no ITT estimate of the assignment effect and no information on co-interventions.All outcome measures are compared between the two treatment groups using an ANCOVA model including factors for treatment, investigative site, and baseline A1C stratum (≤8.5% or >8.5%), and baseline values of corresponding outcome measure as a covariate |
| D3 · Missing outcome data Low risk of bias | hs-CRP available for 30/36 (16.7% missing) and 29/33 (12.1% missing); neither the 20% nor the 5-point prong trips, so Low by ruling 2. Reasons for missingness and any sensitivity analysis are absent - a limitations note.hs-CRP (mg/l) Insulin glargine 29 1.42 ± 0.27 1.38 ± 0.35 −20% (−50% to +27%) Exenatide 30 1.81 ± 0.25 1.30 ± 0.22 −61% (−74% to −42%) |
| D4 · Measurement of the outcome Low risk of bias | Objective central-lab ELISA, all samples in a single batch in one laboratory; no assay change and no between-arm difference in measurement.All serum samples were analyzed in the Lundberg Laboratory for Diabetes Research using a single batch. |
| D5 · Selection of the reported result Some concerns about risk of bias | No protocol, SAP or registry entry retrieved and the paper makes no statement that the biomarker analyses were exploratory or post hoc, so under v1.3 ruling 7 prespecification is unverified and D5 sits at the Some concerns floor - not High. Nine biomarkers with no multiplicity adjustment and no nominated primary biomarker push it firmly to the floor rather than below it. It is not raised to High as for O4 because the O1 contrast is the paper's headline analysis rather than one selected from competing adjustment models - though note that even here only the weight-adjusted version was published.All inferential statistical tests were conducted at a significance level of 0.05 (two-sided). Data are means ± SEM (body composition measures) or geometric means ± SEM (cardiovascular biomarkers) and body weight change–adjusted least-squares mean percentage change (95% CI) from baseline. |
IL-6 percentage change from baseline, exenatide vs insulin glargine (between-treatment group difference) · 1 year (52 weeks)
Some concerns about risk of bias · RoB 2 · Two reviewers differed; settled by a recorded ruling
How the overall was reached: No High domain; three domains at Some concerns -> Some concerns. As with O1 the estimate is weight-adjusted with no unadjusted counterpart, and the record belongs in the head-to-head active-comparator stratum (insulin glargine).
| Domain | Judgment and reasoning |
|---|---|
| D1 · Randomisation process Some concerns about risk of bias | As O1/O4 D1. Baseline IL-6 is well balanced (2.11 vs 1.96 pg/ml), but the randomization mechanism is still undescribed in a small trial whose parent report and registry entry were not retrieved -> NI -> Some concerns.IL-6 (pg/ml) Insulin glargine 29 1.96 ± 0.21 ... Exenatide 30 2.11 ± 0.22 Details on study design were reported previously ( 5 ). Patients were randomized to exenatide ( n = 36) or insulin glargine ( n = 33) |
| D2 · Deviations from intended interventions Some concerns about risk of bias | As O1 D2: unblinded regimens, completers-only analysis with no ITT estimate, no information on co-interventions or adherence.All outcome measures are compared between the two treatment groups using an ANCOVA model including factors for treatment, investigative site, and baseline A1C stratum (≤8.5% or >8.5%), and baseline values of corresponding outcome measure as a covariate |
| D3 · Missing outcome data Low risk of bias | Same denominators as hs-CRP: 30/36 and 29/33; neither D3 prong trips -> Low by ruling 2.IL-6 (pg/ml) Insulin glargine 29 1.96 ± 0.21 2.17 ± 0.20 −4% (−26% to +25%) Exenatide 30 2.11 ± 0.22 2.10 ± 0.25 −10% (−28% to +14%) |
| D4 · Measurement of the outcome Low risk of bias | Objective central-lab ELISA, single batch, one laboratory.All serum samples were analyzed in the Lundberg Laboratory for Diabetes Research using a single batch. |
| D5 · Selection of the reported result Some concerns about risk of bias | Prespecification unverified (no protocol, SAP or registry entry; no author statement of exploratory status) -> Some concerns floor under v1.3 ruling 7. IL-6 is reported fully and null, so there is no sign of selective emphasis against it; the multiplicity-unadjusted nine-biomarker panel and the weight-adjusted-only presentation keep it at the floor.No statistically significant effect of either treatment on HMW adiponectin, IL-6, MCP-1, and resistin was observed. |
hs-CRP percentage change from baseline, adjusted for body weight change, exenatide vs insulin glargine · 1 year (52 weeks)
High risk of bias · RoB 2 · Two reviewers agreed on every domain
How the overall was reached: D5 is High, which sets the floor at High under the RoB 2 algorithm. Two further reasons are recorded in writing rather than folded into a domain. First, the assessed contrast conditions on body weight change, a post-randomization variable, so it is not protected by randomization: the adjusted comparison is a derived, effectively non-randomized contrast with all the confounding exposure that implies (per v1.1 ruling 4 this is carried here and at D5, not at D1). Second, the paper's central weight-independence claim is in tension with its own data: hs-CRP change correlates strongly with weight change within the exenatide arm (r = -0.590, P = 0.001), and the authors themselves concede the study may be underpowered to separate the two, while the abstract states the changes were "statistically independent of the change in total body fat mass and body weight". With no unadjusted estimate published, the size of the weight-independent component cannot be bounded from this paper.
| Domain | Judgment and reasoning |
|---|---|
| D1 · Randomisation process Some concerns about risk of bias | No randomization sequence generation or allocation concealment method is described in this report; the parent report (ref 5) and the registry entry were not retrieved. The v1.2 ruling-6 presumption is NOT applied: it is written for large industry registration trials with central IVRS/IWRS randomization, and the parent here is a 69-patient three-site trial - the guide's D1 rule requires small trials to describe their method, or the answer is NI. Baseline hs-CRP is also somewhat higher in the exenatide arm (1.81 vs 1.42 mg/l geometric means), which does not on its own indicate a broken sequence at this sample size but is not reassuring, and the baseline-characteristics table sits in an appendix that was not retrieved. NI on both mechanism questions with no contrary evidence gives Some concerns, not High. Per ruling 4, the derived / post-randomization-adjusted character of this contrast is deliberately NOT written into D1.Metformin-treated patients with type 2 diabetes (N = 69) were randomized to exenatide or insulin glargine and treated for 1 year. Details on study design were reported previously ( 5 ). Patients were randomized to exenatide ( n = 36) or insulin glargine ( n = 33) added to their ongoing metformin therapy |
| D2 · Deviations from intended interventions Some concerns about risk of bias | No blinding is claimed anywhere; comparing subcutaneous exenatide twice daily with insulin glargine titration makes participants and clinicians aware of assignment, and the parent trial was open-label in design. For a central-lab biomarker this awareness rarely biases the measurement (guide, D2 rule), so the judgment rests on discontinuation handling: the analysis is completers-only (30/36 and 29/33), there is no ITT analysis of the assignment effect, and no statement about co-interventions or adherence. Loss is modest and roughly balanced, so Some concerns rather than High. No information on deviations from intended intervention is reported.All outcome measures are compared between the two treatment groups using an ANCOVA model including factors for treatment, investigative site, and baseline A1C stratum (≤8.5% or >8.5%), and baseline values of corresponding outcome measure as a covariate hs-CRP (mg/l) Insulin glargine 29 ... Exenatide 30 |
| D3 · Missing outcome data Low risk of bias | 59 of 69 randomized participants (85.5%) contribute hs-CRP data: 30/36 exenatide (16.7% missing) and 29/33 glargine (12.1% missing). Neither prong of the guide's D3 threshold trips - missingness is under 20% overall and the between-arm difference is 4.6 points, under 5 - so by ruling 2 (thresholds are decisive) D3 is Low absent specific contrary evidence, and there is none in the retrieved sources. Recorded against that: the paper gives no reasons for missingness and performs no sensitivity analysis, and the disposition figure (supplemental Fig. 1) was not retrieved, so the balance is inferred from the Table 1 n column rather than read from a flow diagram. That is a limitations note, not a downgrade.Patients were randomized to exenatide ( n = 36) or insulin glargine ( n = 33) added to their ongoing metformin therapy (baseline characteristics and patient disposition are shown in supplemental Fig. 1 in the online appendix hs-CRP (mg/l) Insulin glargine 29 1.42 ± 0.27 1.38 ± 0.35 −20% (−50% to +27%) Exenatide 30 1.81 ± 0.25 1.30 ± 0.22 −61% (−74% to −42%) |
| D4 · Measurement of the outcome Low risk of bias | hs-CRP is an objective central-laboratory measure. All samples were frozen at -80 C and run in a single batch in one laboratory with a commercial ELISA, so the assay did not change partway through and measurement did not differ between arms. Outcome assessors' awareness of assignment cannot influence an automated immunoassay result. Guide D4 rule gives Low.All serum samples were analyzed in the Lundberg Laboratory for Diabetes Research using a single batch. high-sensitive C-reactive protein (hs-CRP), interleukin (IL)-6, monocyte chemotactic protein (MCP)-1, and endothelin-1 were determined by commercial ELISAs (R&D Systems, Abingdon, U.K.). |
| D5 · Selection of the reported result High risk of bias | Prespecification is unverifiable (no protocol, SAP or registry entry retrieved), which alone would leave the Some concerns floor under v1.3 ruling 7 - the paper makes no explicit "exploratory" or "post hoc" statement, so the affirmative- evidence branch of ruling 7 is not triggered. High comes instead from the selection-from-multiple-analyses limb of D5, on evidence inside the paper: (i) two different multivariate adjustment sets for the same contrast are reported for hs-CRP (weight-change-adjusted -52%, fat-mass-change-adjusted -48%), plus log-transformed and percentage-change framings, which is the guide's "multiple CRP transformations with one chosen for emphasis" situation in a sharper form; (ii) the unadjusted between-group hs-CRP contrast - the natural reference against which any weight-adjusted estimate is read - is not reported at all, in a table whose every cell is adjusted, so the reader cannot see the analysis the adjusted one was selected over; (iii) nine biomarkers are tested with no multiplicity adjustment and no statement of a primary biomarker endpoint, and hs-CRP is one of four with P < 0.05. Together these are affirmative signs of selection from multiple eligible analyses of the assessed result, not merely an unretrievable protocol.Data are means ± SEM (body composition measures) or geometric means ± SEM (cardiovascular biomarkers) and body weight change–adjusted least-squares mean percentage change (95% CI) from baseline. LS, least-squares. The crude between–treatment group differences remained statistically significant after additional multivariate adjustment for total body fat mass change: total adiponectin +16% (95% CI: +5% to +28%), P = 0.004; leptin −20% (−34% to −2%), P = 0.028; hs-CRP −48% (−69% to −13%), P = 0.015; and body weight change ( Table 1 ): ... hs-CRP −52% (−71% to −19%), P = 0.008. |
Funding and conflicts
- Funding
- not reported in abstract
- Industry funded
- Unclear
- Manufacturer
- None identified
- Sponsor role
- not reported in abstract
- Author conflicts
- not available in metadata
- Independent replication
- unknown
Funding is shown on every study and never used to score it.
Claims this study bears on
- GLP-1 receptor agonist treatment reduces systemic inflammatory markers beyond what can be explained by treatment-associated weight loss.Supports
hs-CRP -52% (95% CI -71% to -19%) surviving weight adjustment. Active comparator; no unadjusted estimate published.
The source, as retrieved
Abstract
[OBJECTIVE] To study the effect of exenatide on body composition and circulating cardiovascular risk biomarkers. [RESEARCH DESIGN AND METHODS] Metformin-treated patients with type 2 diabetes (N = 69) were randomized to exenatide or insulin glargine and treated for 1 year. Body composition was evaluated by dual-energy X-ray absorptiometry. Additionally, body weight, waist circumference, and cardiovascular biomarkers were measured. [RESULTS] Treatment with exenatide for 1 year significantly reduced body weight, waist circumference, and total body and trunkal fat mass by 6, 5, 11, and 13%, respectively. In addition, exenatide increased total adiponectin by 12% and reduced high-sensitivity C-reactive protein by 61%. Insulin glargine significantly reduced endothelin-1 by 7%. These changes were statistically independent of the change in total body fat mass and body weight. [CONCLUSIONS] Exenatide treatment for 1 year reduced body fat mass and improved the profile of circulating biomarkers of cardiovascular risk. No significant changes were seen with insulin glargine except a trend for reduced endothelin-1 levels.
Where this record came from
| Source | Retrieved | Identifier |
|---|---|---|
| pubmed | Sep 13, 2026 | 20424219 first ingestion |