Use of Glucose-Lowering Drugs for Type 2 Diabetes Among Danish Care Home Residents
- Design
- Retrospective cohort · Hard outcome
- Match to healthy normal-weight adults aged 55–75
- Population unclear[Auto] Population characteristics not extractable from abstract (age/BMI not reported in abstract). Needs manual review.
- Could weight loss explain it?
- Unknown[Auto] Not addressed in abstract.
- Study tier
- Study tier 3[Auto] Observational design; confounding by indication and healthy-user effects cannot be excluded (auto-provisional).
- Assessment
- Version 1 · automatic, not yet reviewed by a person · Sep 13, 2026
Study facts come from the paper. Population match, weight-loss explanation and study tier are our judgments, made against the reference group of healthy normal-weight adults aged 55–75.
[Auto, unreviewed; quoted from abstract conclusions] GLD use for T2D among Danish care home residents is high and shows limited deintensification and potential misalignment with guideline recommendations.
01Findings
What the study reported
- Drugs
- Class unspecified
- Primary outcome
- Not extracted
- Effect
- Not extracted
- 95% confidence interval
- Not extracted
- Follow-up
- 84 years
- Adverse events
- Not extracted
- Limitations
- Auto-classified from abstract only; effect estimates, adverse events and limitations not extracted. Requires manual review.
Who was studied
- Sex distribution
- 60% female
- Diabetes status
- diabetes mentioned
Study quality details
- Study design
- Retrospective cohort
- Sample size
- not extracted
- Randomization
- no
- Blinding
- not stated
- Comparator
- not stated
- Follow up duration
- 84 years
- Outcome type
- hard
- Replication
- not assessed (auto)
- Consistency with other evidence
- not assessed (auto)
- Population applicability
- UNKNOWN
- Statistical precision
- not extracted
- Risk of bias
- not assessed (auto)
- Funding conflicts
- partial
- Peer review status
- yes
02Funding
Funding and conflicts
- Funding
- Novo Nordisk Foundation
- Industry funded
- Partial
- Manufacturer
- Novo Nordisk
- Sponsor role
- mixed industry and public/foundation funding
- Author conflicts
- not available in metadata
- Independent replication
- unknown
Funding is shown on every study and never used to score it.
04Source
The source, as retrieved
Abstract
[AIMS] Care home admission often reflects frailty and limited life expectancy, potentially altering the benefit-harm balance of glucose-lowering drug (GLD) treatment for type 2 diabetes (T2D). Real-world data on treatment patterns in this setting remain limited. We examined GLD use for T2D among Danish care home residents. [MATERIALS AND METHODS] We conducted a nationwide, population-based drug utilisation study of all individuals admitted to Danish care homes between 2018 and 2023, using linked national health registries. [RESULTS] Among 88 658 residents (median age: 84 years [IQR: 78-90]; 60% women), 13% (n = 11 101) used GLDs for T2D at admission, with 84% continuing treatment beyond 2 years. Residents using GLDs at admission had long-standing diabetes (median duration: 12 years [IQR: 6.8-15]), relatively low glycated haemoglobin levels (median: 6.9% [IQR: 6.3-7.8]; 52 mmol/mol [45-62]) with little change around admission, and 43% used more than one GLD class, most commonly metformin (70%) and insulin (36%; basal: 30%; bolus: 16%). Use of glucagon-like peptide-1 receptor agonists and sodium-glucose cotransporter-2 inhibitors increased over time but remained limited (13% and 24%, respectively, in 2023), despite a high prevalence of cardiorenal disease (84%), and did not differ by cardiorenal disease status. Overall GLD use remained stable around admission, but initiation spiked 3 months before admission (36 initiators/10 000 residents), often following hospitalisation (63%) and primarily involved bolus insulin initiated by hospital physicians. [CONCLUSIONS] GLD use for T2D among Danish care home residents is high and shows limited deintensification and potential misalignment with guideline recommendations.
Where this record came from
| Source | Retrieved | Identifier |
|---|---|---|
| pubmed | Sep 13, 2026 | 42687767 first ingestion |