GLP-1 Evidence

Not medical advice. A record of published research and our assessments of it. The limits

Muscle matters: the effects of medically induced weight loss on skeletal muscle

Design
Narrative review · Unknown outcome
Match to healthy normal-weight adults aged 55–75
Population unclearReview; discusses older adults as a higher-risk group.
Could weight loss explain it?
Not applicable[Auto] Not a primary outcome study.
Study tier
Not ratedExpert review without new data; calls for functional and muscle-quality outcomes.
Assessment
Version 2 · curated · Sep 13, 2026

Study facts come from the paper. Population match, weight-loss explanation and study tier are our judgments, made against the reference group of healthy normal-weight adults aged 55–75.

A Lancet Diabetes & Endocrinology review of muscle loss with weight-loss drugs. Emphasises that lean-mass loss is real, that its functional consequences are unstudied, and that older adults are at particular risk. Authors have nutrition-industry and Novo Nordisk relationships.

01Findings

What the study reported

Drugs
Class unspecified
Primary outcome
Not extracted
Effect
Not extracted
95% confidence interval
Not extracted
Follow-up
Not stated
Adverse events
Not extracted
Limitations
Auto-classified from abstract only; effect estimates, adverse events and limitations not extracted. Requires manual review.

Who was studied

Study quality details

Study design
Unknown
Sample size
not extracted
Randomization
no
Blinding
not stated
Comparator
not stated
Follow up duration
not stated
Outcome type
unknown
Replication
not assessed (auto)
Consistency with other evidence
not assessed (auto)
Population applicability
UNKNOWN
Statistical precision
not extracted
Risk of bias
not assessed (auto)
Funding conflicts
unclear
Peer review status
yes
02Funding

Funding and conflicts

Funding
Not stated
Industry funded
Unclear
Manufacturer
Novo Nordisk, Pfizer
Sponsor role
not reported in abstract
Author conflicts
Lead author reports honoraria/consultancy including Novo Nordisk, Abbott, Nestle.
Independent replication
unknown

Funding is shown on every study and never used to score it.

03Claims

Claims this study bears on

04Source

The source, as retrieved

Abstract

No abstract retrieved.

Where this record came from

SourceRetrievedIdentifier
pubmedSep 13, 202639265590
first ingestion