GLP-1 Evidence

Not medical advice. A record of published research and our assessments of it. The limits

Oral small-molecule GLP-1RA safiglipron versus dapagliflozin in type 2 diabetes: a randomized, double-blind, active-comparator-controlled phase 3 trial

Design
Randomized trial · 810 participants · Biomarker outcome
Match to healthy normal-weight adults aged 55–75
Different populationINDIRECT: all participants had type 2 diabetes inadequately controlled with metformin (mean HbA1c 8.60%); age and BMI are not reported.
Could weight loss explain it?
Not applicableNot applicable: the primary outcome is HbA1c change, which is glycaemic control itself; body weight fell in all arms (-2.35% to -4.17% with safiglipron, -3.60% with dapagliflozin).
Study tier
Study tier 2MODERATE: an 810-participant double-blind phase 3 randomized trial with an active comparator; held below HIGH because the primary endpoint is a 32-week glycaemic measure, not a clinical event.
Assessment
Version 3 · Two independent AI reviews agreed · Oct 19, 2026

Study facts come from the paper. Population match, weight-loss explanation and study tier are our judgments, made against the reference group of healthy normal-weight adults aged 55–75.

This double-blind randomized trial in China gave 810 adults with type 2 diabetes on metformin one of three doses of oral safiglipron or dapagliflozin for 32 weeks. All three doses lowered HbA1c at least as well as dapagliflozin and the 90 mg dose did better, but the 60 mg dose did not reach superiority. Weight loss was similar to or smaller than with dapagliflozin, and gut side effects and stopping for side effects were more common with safiglipron.

01Findings

What the study reported

Drugs
Safiglipron
Dose
safiglipron 30 mg, 60 mg or 90 mg
Comparator
dapagliflozin 10 mg
Treatment duration
32 weeks, followed by a 20-week active-treatment extension
Route
oral
Primary outcome
change from baseline in HbA1c at week 32 (non-inferiority versus dapagliflozin)
Effect
HbA1c differences versus dapagliflozin -0.30%, -0.22% and -0.40% for 30, 60 and 90 mg (non-inferior for all); superiority met for 90 mg (-0.25%) but not 60 mg (P = 0.0789); weight change -2.35%, -3.55%, -4.17% versus -3.60% with dapagliflozin
95% confidence interval
95% CI: -0.51 to -0.09 (30 mg), -0.44 to -0.01 (60 mg), -0.62 to -0.19 (90 mg)
P value
all P < 0.0001 for non-inferiority; 90 mg superiority one-sided P = 0.0067; 60 mg P = 0.0789
Follow-up
week 32 (primary endpoint), followed by a 20-week active-treatment extension
Adverse events
Gastrointestinal adverse events were more frequent with safiglipron and mostly mild or moderate; adverse events led to discontinuation in 4.0%, 4.0%, 3.9% versus 1.5% with dapagliflozin; rescue therapy 0.5-1.5% versus 0%
Limitations
Conducted only in China against an active comparator rather than placebo, with a 32-week glycaemic primary endpoint; superiority was shown for the 90 mg dose only, after which fixed-sequence testing stopped, and several authors were employees of the developer.

Who was studied

Sex distribution
35.7% women
Obesity status
not reported in abstract
Diabetes status
type 2 diabetes required (inadequately controlled with metformin)
Cvd status
not reported in abstract
Ckd status
not reported in abstract
Baseline condition
type 2 diabetes inadequately controlled with metformin
Sample size
810
Inclusion exclusion
adults with type 2 diabetes inadequately controlled with metformin, at 98 sites in China

Study quality details

Study design
Randomized controlled trial
Sample size
810
Randomization
yes
Blinding
double-blind
Comparator
dapagliflozin 10 mg
Follow up duration
week 32 (primary endpoint), followed by a 20-week active-treatment extension
Outcome type
biomarker
Replication
not assessed
Consistency with other evidence
not assessed
Population applicability
INDIRECT
Statistical precision
CI reported: 95% CI: -0.51 to -0.09 (30 mg), -0.44 to -0.01 (60 mg), -0.62 to -0.19 (90 mg)
Risk of bias
not assessed
Funding conflicts
unclear
Peer review status
yes
02Funding

Funding and conflicts

Funding
not reported in abstract
Industry funded
Unclear
Manufacturer
not stated in source
Sponsor role
not reported in abstract
Author conflicts
Five authors were Jiangsu Hengrui Pharmaceuticals employees at the time of the study, and three declare a patent pending relating to safiglipron.
Independent replication
unknown
Notes
Authors declare relationships with the drug's manufacturer: Jiangsu Hengrui Pharmaceuticals (five employees; three with a patent pending relating to safiglipron).

Funding is shown on every study and never used to score it.

04Source

The source, as retrieved

Abstract

Safiglipron is an oral small-molecule glucagon-like peptide-1 (GLP-1) receptor agonist administered without fasting or dietary restrictions. We evaluated its efficacy and safety versus dapagliflozin in OUTSTAND-2, a phase 3, multicenter, randomized, double-blind, double-dummy, active-comparator-controlled trial conducted at 98 sites in China. We randomized 810 adults (mean hemoglobin A1C (HbA1c) 8.60%, median diabetes duration 5.0 years, 35.7% women) to safiglipron 30 mg (n = 202), safiglipron 60 mg (n = 203), safiglipron 90 mg (n = 203) or dapagliflozin 10 mg (n = 202) for 32 weeks, followed by a 20-week active-treatment extension. For the primary endpoint, treatment differences versus dapagliflozin in change from baseline in HbA1c at week 32 under the primary non-inferiority estimand were -0.30% (95% confidence interval (CI): -0.51 to -0.09), -0.22% (-0.44 to -0.01) and -0.40% (-0.62 to -0.19) for safiglipron 30 mg, 60 mg and 90 mg, respectively, establishing non-inferiority for all three doses (all P < 0.0001; non-inferiority margin 0.4%). Under the treatment policy estimand, 90 mg met the prespecified statistical criterion for superiority (difference -0.25%; 95% CI: -0.45 to -0.05; one-sided P = 0.0067), whereas 60 mg did not (P = 0.0789), after which fixed-sequence testing stopped. HbA1c target attainment rates with safiglipron versus dapagliflozin were 54.9-63.5% versus 36.5% for HbA1c <7.0% and 38.9-48.6% versus 16.1% for HbA1c ≤6.5%. Mean body weight changes were -2.35%, -3.55%, -4.17% and -3.60% for safiglipron 30 mg, safiglipron 60 mg, safiglipron 90 mg and dapagliflozin, respectively. Fasting plasma glucose, seven-point self-monitored blood glucose profiles, waist circumference, HOMA-β, HOMA-IR and changes in treatment satisfaction showed varying degrees of improvement from baseline with both safiglipron and dapagliflozin. Rescue therapy was used by 0.5-1.5% versus 0% of participants, respectively. Gastrointestinal adverse events were more frequent with safiglipron and mostly mild or moderate; adverse events led to treatment discontinuation in 4.0%, 4.0%, 3.9% and 1.5% of participants, respectively. Safiglipron provides an effective oral treatment option for adults with type 2 diabetes inadequately controlled with metformin. ClinicalTrials.gov identifier: NCT06589765 .

Where this record came from

SourceRetrievedIdentifier
pubmedOct 11, 202642834229
first ingestion
pubmedOct 18, 202642834229
duplicate matched on doi